The administration of the Judicial Service Commission is headed by a Secretary.  It is divided into two main sections, each headed by a Deputy Secretary. One section is primarily concerned with court services. Under this section fall the Registrars of the superior and specialised courts, the Chief Magistrate, the Master of the High Court and the legal research and development function. The other division offers necessary support services such as finance, administration, human resources and information services.
In line with its policy of decentralising decision making authority, the structure of the secretariat described above is replicated at provincial level to the extent where this is practicable with the Provincial Magistrate acting as the provincial head of administration.