(+263) (242) 704118 | 706260

The Judicial Service Commission as a policy-making body is supported by a Secretariat headed by the Secretary whose responsibility shall, subject to the Commissionís directions, supervise and manage the Commissionís staff, activities, funds and property and perform such other functions on behalf of the Commission as the Commission may assign to him or her. The Secretary is ably supported by two Deputy Secretaries. Administratively there are two main sections each headed by a Deputy Secretary. One section is primarily concerned with policy and legal services. Under this section, there are Registrars of the Superior and Specialised Courts, the Magistracy, the Office of the Master of the High Court and the Legal Research department. The other division offers necessary support services such as finance, administration, human resources, procurement and information services. In line with its policy of decentralising decision-making authority, the structure of the Secretariat described above is replicated at the provincial level to the extent where this is practicable with the Provincial Magistrate acting as the provincial heads of administration.