The Labour Court is created in terms of section 84 of the Labour Act [Chapter 28:01]. It is a creature of statute and its area of jurisdiction is only as provided for within the four corners of the Act.

It consists of a Senior President and other Presidents of the Labour Court. With the recent operationalisation of the Judicial Service Act, the Labour Court now falls under the authority of the Judicial Service Commission as headed by the Chief Justice. The Senior President is possessed of the overall administrative responsibility of the operations of this court. The Labour Court is currently located in three centres, namely Harare, Bulawayo and Gweru. The functions of the Labour Court may be exercised by one or more Presidents sitting either by themselves or with one or more assessors. In the event of an equal division in opinions of the Presidents, the decision of the presiding President shall be the decision of the whole court. Assessors do not have a voice in any question of law. The jurisdiction of the Labour Court is specified in section 89 of the Act. Generally, it is an appeal court for a variety of labour disputes, although in a few cases it is a court of first instance. An example of the latter is where a dispute may arise in relation to the extent or description of any undertaking or industry represented by a trade union. Such a dispute may be referred directly to the Labour Court for determination. An appeal from any decision of the Labour Court lies to the Supreme Court, but this is only in relation to a question of law.
Bristol House
97 Kwame Nkrumah Ave
Tel: +263 4 798 634/5
Tredgold Building
Cnr 4th Street and Leopold Takawira Street
Tel: +263 292 73600
Old Prison Complex
Main Street
Tel: +263 54 231644

Get a Quote