Its operations are in the main governed by the Constitution and the Supreme Court Act [Chapter 7:13].

The composition of the Supreme Court is provided for in section 168 of the Constitution which states as follows; The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court is provided for in section 169 of the Constitution which states as follows;
(1) The Supreme Court is a superior court of record and consists of— (1) The Supreme Court is the final court of appeal for Zimbabwe, except in matters over which the Constitutional Court has jurisdiction.
(a) the Chief Justice and the Deputy Chief Justice; (2) Subject to subsection (1), an Act of Parliament may confer additional jurisdiction and powers on the Supreme Court.
(b) no fewer than two other judges of the Supreme Court; and (3) An Act of Parliament may provide for the exercise of jurisdiction by the Supreme Court and for that purpose may confer the power to make rules of court.
(c) any additional judges appointed under subsection (2). (4) Rules of court may confer on a registrar of the Supreme Court any of the Court’s jurisdiction and powers in civil cases—
(2) If the services of an additional judge are required on the Supreme Court for a limited period, the Chief Justice may appoint a judge of the High Court, or a former judge to act as a judge of the Supreme Court for that period. (a) to make orders in uncontested cases, other than orders affecting status or the custody or guardianship of children;
(3) Judges or former judges appointed to act under subsection (2) may continue to sit as judges of the Supreme Court after their appointments have expired, for the purpose of dealing with any proceedings commenced before them while they were so acting. (b) to decide preliminary or interlocutory matters, including applications for directions, but not matters affecting the liberty of any person; but the rules must give any person affected by the registrar’s order or decision a right to have it reviewed by a judge of the Supreme Court, who may confirm it, amend it or set it aside or give any other order or decision he or she thinks fit.
The Supreme Court is currently composed of the Chief Justice, the Deputy Chief Justice, and eight other Judges of Appeal. The Supreme Court permanently sits at Harare although from time to time it sits at Bulawayo on circuit. In the absence of the Chief Justice the Deputy Chief Justice acts as such. The Chief Justice is the head of Zimbabwe’s judiciary.  

Corner third Street and Kwame Nkrumah Avenue

Supreme Court Building


Tel: +263 242 703 501-2

Get a Quote